You have a 50% higher chance of converting prospects from Google Ads when compared to organic search. The chance of you landing a sale increases by 70% when you start re-targeting customers via digital ads. Lastly, 92% of all web searches are made via Google.
These stats show that Google Ads is essential for your digital marketing strategy. More so if you’re a small or medium-sized business that is just starting out.
Google pockets over $146 billion in ad profits. That’s because we marketers end up paying $2.69 per ad click on average. This makes it even more important to optimize our ads so to ensure that our dollars are spent wisely.
Running a successful Google Ads campaign isn’t a child’s play. For starters, you must be able to curate ads that are creative enough to beat your competition. It also involves a fair bit of number crunching to analyze and optimize the campaign strategy. Finally, it demands business skills for turning the enumerated data into actionable insights.
That said, if you put your eggs in the right basket, Google Ads can help you achieve as high as 1000% growth in a year.
Ready for the challenge? In this article, we’ll tell you how to create Google Ads and ways to create a successful marketing campaign. Let’s start by fulfilling the most important requirement – creating a Google Ads account!
How to Create Google Ads Step by Step
This part should be a cakewalk if you have a fair amount of technical knowledge. Note that this isn’t an exhaustive Google Ads tutorial, but it covers everything you need to get going on the platform.
Hit the ‘Get Started’ button on the Google Ads homepage. Register yourself with a Gmail id or create a new one if you don’t have a Google account. At this point, you can even authorize team members or an agency to handle your ads.
Log in to your account. In this step, Google asks you about your advertising goals. You have to choose between getting more calls, receiving more store traction, or better sales. Don’t worry if you can’t decide between the options at this stage. The goals for your campaigns can always be changed.
Then, you need to enter details like company name and website. Remember, a website is a must-have to publish ads. It will be used by Google to verify your business and act as a landing page for visitors.
Create your campaign by entering details like keyword themes, ad text, locations, and budget. These should be enough to get you started with your first campaign. If you’re still unsure of the particulars, you can set up a dummy campaign. But do remember to pause or stop the campaign the moment it goes live.
Finally, you need to provide billing info. You can pay for your ads via a credit card or directly using your bank account. Do note that it takes a while for a bank account to be verified by Google.
Once your campaign is launched, you can hit the ‘Explore Campaign’ button to get insights into your ads. Check out the sections like company data, campaign summaries, and keyword information for your account.
Types of Google Ads
Google constantly tweaks its ad products and comes up with newer offerings. It’s able to provide the best marketing solutions even with changing trends.
Here are five major types of campaigns that can help your business.
1. Google Search
With over 60K searches made on Google every second, the sky is the limit for your ads’ potential reach. Advertisers can create different ad groups to target specific search keywords.
If you own a closet company, you can try to get visibility for terms such as ‘closet,’ ‘wardrobe,’ and ‘cupboard.’ There are many options like negative keywords and callout extensions that can help your campaign do better.
2. Google Shopping
This a great tool if you own an e-commerce website. Your products will be shown on top of the Google Shopping portal when there is a relevant query.
These ads are also shown to search users who exhibit a shopping intent. Besides, it gives you the option to add discount tags and other product-specific attributes.
3. Video Advertising
Google realized early on that videos were the future and acquired YouTube for a massive sum. It’s been over a decade and advertisers haven’t stopped flocking on the platform.
Thanks to options like the TrueView and Bumper ads, businesses are able to get better returns. While TrueView aims at getting traffic from search results, the Bumper ads are catchy in-video ads that aim to capture attention.
4. Display Advertising
Text ads, image ads, and embedded video ads are some of the display advertising methods used by Google. These are typically seen on websites that use Google Ads services and deploy different types of targeting methods.
You can target users based on demography, the context of the website, and other pavement criteria. Such ads can be economical and can help in getting more conversions.
5. Mobile Advertising
With most of the world’s web traffic coming from mobile devices, it made sense for Google to create specialized solutions. Enter Universal App campaigns and call-only ads. They provided ways to specifically target mobile users and helped achieved niche targets such as more app downloads.
Now you know how to create a Google Ads account, ways to publish them, and the types of campaigns. So, it’s time to get more out of your investment a.k.a. optimization. Before getting into it, let’s decrypt some jargon so that we can break down Google Ads in a better manner. Feel free to skip the next section if you have a basic idea of sales or digital marketing.
Frequently Used Metrics
There are many metrics that are used by Google Ads experts. While it’s good to know all the concepts as laid out by Google, it can be quite an information overload if you’re new to all this.
To make the learning easy, we have explained the four most important metrics you need as a Google Ads beginner.
1. Conversion Rate
It’s the number of people making the desired actions against the total number of ad interactions.
Let’s take a scenario wherein your end goal is getting subscriptions for a newsletter. If 65 of every 1000 people who encounter the ad sign up for the newsletter, your conversion rate is (65 / 1000) * 100 = 6.5%.
2. Clickthrough Rate (CTR)
It’s the number of people clicking on your ads against the total number of ad interactions.
This can be used to determine how effective your ads are. If your ads are viewed by 1000 people and 80 click them, your CTR is (80 / 1000) * 100 = 8%.
3. Cost Per Click (CPC)
It’s the amount you pay Google for every ad click. New-age marketers love to obsess over the max cost per click (CPC) for their campaigns. There’s a reason because this metric steers the digital advertising budgets.
Let’s assume you set a budget of $2500 and the campaign gets you 1000 clicks. At this rate, your CPC is ($2500 / 1000) = $2.5.
4. Return on Advertising Spend (RoAS)
Just like RoI, it tells you how much you earned on every dollar of advertising money spent.
This is the number your bosses are interested in since it gives a broad picture of whether the campaign is effective. If your budget for a campaign was $5,000 and you made $25,000 in sales, your RoAS = $25,000 / $5,000 = 2.5. This indicates that you accrued 2.5 times of what you spend on advertising. You’re all set. Getting a hang of these metrics can make your campaign analyses a breeze. Now, let’s look at ways to get the best results from your Google Ads.
How to Make Your Campaign Effective
80% of all businesses with a digital presence rely on Google Ads at some point or the other. With so many players in the fray, simply knowing how to create Google Ads isn’t enough?
There are a few simple objective ways you can ensure that your campaign performs better.
1. It’s All About Goals
This is one step that cannot be outsourced to an agency or an expert. That’s because nobody knows about the business and its goals better than you.
Your Google Ads goals should be in tandem with the overall business goal. Don’t put up ads just because your competitors are doing so. In fact, the very first step when setting up Google Ads is about the objective, so give it some serious thought.
2. Get a High Quality Score
Google’s intelligent algorithms rate your ads based on the keywords, length of the text, and use of landing pages. This rating lies on a scale of 1 to 10 and is known as the Quality Score.
There are widely known techniques like the use of SKAGs and expanded ad groups for ideal results. Avail of the services of an expert if needed and improve your Quality Score for a better conversion rate.
3. Catch Hold of the Longtail Keywords
In a bid to get a wider reach, advertisers often overlook longtail keywords. While longer keywords cater are viewed by fewer people, they also have lesser competition and addresses specific needs of the search user.
Try experimenting with keywords that include hyperlocal details. Your closet company can surely benefit from a keyword like ‘wardrobe makers in first avenue.’
4. Use Features That Add Value
There are dozens of add-ons provided by Google. They can increase value to the campaign and result in a better RoAS.
Smart Bidding and Responsive Search Ads is an excellent feature. It automates the strategy part, deploys ads, and returns the best value for your budget.
You can also add negative keywords that ensure that your ads are not shown irrelevantly. For instance, you add negative keywords such as ‘closet auger’ and ‘skeletons in the closet’ for your closet brand.
The ‘Extension’ is another game-changing advertising tool. It allows you to add phone numbers and specific links to the ad to provide more readily accessible call-to-actions.
5. Crunch Those Numbers Till You Hear a Sound
With the digital industry evolving by the day, it’s important to stay on top of the trend shifts. Keep a tab on the metrics we discussed earlier. They are key to a successful Google Ads strategy.
Keep running tests with different ads and figure out which ones are performing better. Even a slight dip in the numbers could signify something important. Remember, a dollar saved is a dollar earned.
It’s alright if you have been postponing your Google Ads plan. The important thing is to hop on the bandwagon quickly and increase your profits.
Refer to some full-length Google Ads campaign tutorials. With some analytical skills, a creative state of mind, and the knowledge of Google Ads, success isn’t far away. Sounds like a lot of work to you? Allow us to take this off your plate. At BoostOne, we provide end-to-end solutions for Google Ads with a high success rate. We are also a certified Google Partner with plenty of experience. Reach out today!